PhD in Marketing // Faculty Research

Faculty Research

Our faculty are leaders in the Marketing field.

CB Bhattacharya

  • 2022 Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp Long-Term Impact Award for: “Reaping relational rewards from corporate social responsibility: The role of competitive positioning,” J. of Research in Marketing, 224–241, 24(3), 2007
  • Listed among top 1% of marketing scholars by citation in Stanford University study, 2021 and among top 50 cited scholars in Marketing per Google Scholar
  • Excellence in Teaching award in MBA Programs at Katz, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021; both EMBA and MBA
  • Editorial Board Member of JM, JAMS, IJRM, JPP&M, B&S

Esther Gal-Or

  • Editor of European Economic Review
  • Co-Editor of Journal of Economics and Management Strategy

Tansev Geylani

  • Editorial Review Board, Marketing Science
  • Marketing Science Institute (MSI) Young Scholar (2009)
  • Management Science Distinguished Service (2009 & 2011); Meritorious Service (2012) Awards
  • Katz Excellence in Research Award (2008, 2009)

Jeffrey Inman

  • Chancellor’s Distinguished Research Award 2022
  • AMA RAPSIG Lifetime Achievement Award 2021
  • Past Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Consumer Research
  • Past-President of Society for Consumer Psychology (SCP)
  • Fellow – Society for Consumer Psychology
  • Past-President of Association for Consumer Research (ACR)
  • AMA Sheth Doctoral Consortium Faculty (2008-2022)

Peggy Liu

  • Editorial Review Board Member of Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Marketing, and Journal of Consumer Psychology
  • Association for Consumer Research Early Career Award (2022)
  • Society for Consumer Psychology Early Career Award (2021)
  • American Marketing Association Marketing and Society SIG Emerging Scholar Award (2022)
  • Behavioral Science and Policy Association New Investigator Award (2021)
  • Marketing Science Institute Young Scholar (2021)
  • Association for Psychological Science Rising Star Award (2022)
  • AMA-Sheth Doctoral Consortium Faculty (2022)

Vanitha Swaminathan

  • Editor, Journal of Marketing
  • Board of Directors, American Marketing Association
  • Lehmann Best Paper Award Recipient (2020 and 2002)
  • AMA Best Paper Award in Track (2022)
  • Exec. Committee, President (2018-2019), Past-President (2019-2020), Am. Marketing Assoc. Academic Council
  • AMA Sheth Doctoral Consortium Faculty (2018, 2019, 2021)
  • Marketing Science Institute (MSI) Young Scholar (2003)

R. Venkatesh

  • American Marketing Association ServSIG’s Best Services Paper Award (2010)
  • Journal of Interactive Marketing Best Paper Award (2007)
  • Previously on the Editorial Review Board of Journal of Marketing and International Journal of Research in Marketing

Eugenia Wu

  • Editorial Review Board, Journal of Consumer Research and Journal of Marketing Research 
  • Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award (2014, 2016, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021)
  • CBA Student Impact Award (2020, 2021, 2022)
  • Poets and Quants selection: “The Favorite Professors of Business Majors”, 2019
  • Most Valuable Teacher Award, University of Pittsburgh Athletics, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021
  • College of Business Administration Top Teaching Award (2016)
  • Central Research and Development Fund grant recipient (2016, 2019)
  • Dean’s Excellence in Service Award (2017)

Yue Wu

  • Management Science Distinguished Service Award (2019 & 2020)


The level of mentoring I receive at Katz is beyond what I ever imagined. The faculty are legitimately invested in my success, and devote an inordinate amount of time to helping me grow and develop as scholar and a researcher.

Jesse-Burton Nicholson

PhD '22

The Katz PhD program gives the opportunity to grow into a well-rounded academic. The relationships with faculty allowed me to learn while honing and cultivating interesting and insightful research.

Mikhail Gordon

PhD '20